Maryland Department of Natural Resources CARES Act Relief 2020
Applicants must be at least 18 years of age, be willing to self certify a 2020 revenue loss of at least 35%, compared to the most recent 5 year average, and have, prior to March 27, 2020 reported for-hire or commercial harvest of finfish, shellfish including crabs, or aquaculture products and/or report seafood dealing activity in one of the three years including 2017, 2018, 2019
In addition to the criteria stated above an applicant must meet one of the following criteria:
● A Maryland and/or NOAA-authorized commercial seafood harvester domiciled in Maryland;
● A commercial seafood harvester domiciled in Maryland who has harvested on a temporarily transferred authorization (does not own a license);
● A seafood dealer/processor domiciled in Maryland that is licensed to sell seafood either by the State of Maryland and/or by the federal government;
● An aquaculture business that is domiciled in Maryland and holds valid aquaculture leases in Maryland;
● An entity domiciled in Maryland that holds federal for-hire permits;
● An entity domiciled in Maryland that holds federal commercial harvest permits;
● An entity not domiciled in Maryland but that holds a NOAA or Maryland-issued authorization and whose businesses are based solely in Maryland;
● An entity licensed by the PRFC that is domiciled in Maryland and reports harvest to Maryland; and/or
● Maryland residents with Federal operator permits.
Open from to
Apply or RegisterThis application is closed. Please contact the administrator if you have questions.
Complete the form
Review the steps - read carefully
1. Answer 3 qualifying questions
2. Provide your personal information including mailing address and social security number
3. Self-certify that you have suffered a loss of more than 35% of revenue due to the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic on the fishing industry.
What Happens After Submission
Once Your Application is Submitted
The department will review the application for eligibility. You will be notified of the outcome of the application review. If it is approved, your relevant information will be securely forwarded to Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission, and they will reimburse you for the license or aquaculture lease fees you paid to participate in the 2020 fishing year. If you qualify for reimbursement, you may receive a second check in 2021 depending on the number of applicants and the amount of remaining funds.