Veterinary Hospital License Details

Veterinary Hospital License

General Info - Statewide License


This Maryland license is required for all veterinary hospitals, including mobile hospitals and limited use facilities.


  • - s

    Approval time

  • $150.00

    Application cost

Obtaining the License

Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents

  1. Registration steps for new veterinary hospital facilities.

  2. Inspection required within 60 days for hospitals changing ownership and inspected in the last 12 months.

  3. Different documentation is required for different types of hospital. See website for more information.


Apply for the License

Ready to apply?


Maintaining Your License

Renewal and maintenance -

Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)

  1. Hospitals must conform to all sanitation regulations and pass all inspections, which are conducted at least once every 18 months.

Agency/Contact

License Issuer - Information

Who issues the license?

Department of Agriculture

Contact Information

State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners

Email: mda.veterinaryboard@maryland.gov

Tel: (410) 841-5862 / Fax: (410) 841-5780

Work hours:



Purpose

Why the License is required?


Licensing veterinary hospitals helps ensure that minimum sanitary requirements are met. 


Legal Authority

What laws and regulations give Department of Agriculture the legal authority to issue this approval?

Annotated Code of Maryland, Agriculture Article 2-304 and 2-304.1