Security System Technician Certification
General Info - Statewide Certification
Certification issued by the Maryland Department of State Police. Generally, a security system technician is a person who is registered to personally provide security systems services.
A security systems technician is a person who is registered to personally provide security systems services, which include providing on a person's residence or commercial property the service of three things:
1. Surveying the property for purposes of installing a security system;
2. Physically installing, maintaining, or repairing a security system; or
3. Responding to a distress call or an alarm sounding from a security system.
Valid from approval date
$15.0 - $50.0
Obtaining the Certification
Ready to get your certification? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Be at least 18 years old and of good moral character.
All original and renewal applications require FBI and CJIS fingerprint submissions. Applicants must also submit two (2) passport size photos (2" x 2" square, light background, head and shoulder full face, no hat, no dark glasses), all applicable fees, live scan receipt, and the application itself.
Apply for the Certification
Ready to apply?
Download the application .PDF file
Maintaining Your Certification
Renewal and maintenance - Valid from approval date for
Maintaining your Certification (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain Certification/stay in good standing)
Submit the renewal application 90 days prior to expiration.
What laws and regulations give Maryland Department of State Police the legal authority to issue this approval?
Business Occupations and Professions Title 18; COMAR Title 29.04.05