Secondhand Precious Metal Objects Dealers & Pawnbrokers License
General Info - Statewide License
A Secondhand Precious Metal Objects Dealers & Pawnbrokers License, as issued by Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation, allows an individual to: acquire commercially from the public or trade commercially with the public in secondhand precious metal objects; become a retail jeweler and conduct transactions in which the retail jeweler acquires commercially from the public or trades commercially with the public in secondhand precious metal objects; arrange for the sale or delivery of secondhand precious metal objects (for compensation) on behalf of a person that does not hold a dealer's license under the law; or trade commercially with the public in secondhand precious metal objects.
Employees of dealers, who act on behalf of the dealer to conduct transactions, must be approved by the Department. Dealers must file a Dealer’s Report of Employee (Word) for each employee who will be conducting precious metal or pawn transactions. Each employee applicant must have a federal and Maryland criminal history check as part of the application process. These reports are reviewed and approved by the Department before issuing a license.
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Be 18 years of age or older.
Maintain a "fixed business address" in the State of Maryland and a fully executed lease with that property owner or management company.
Obtain a Use and Occupancy Permit from the local zoning office with jurisdiction over the location of your business address.
If your business is located in Montgomery, Prince George's, Anne Arundel Counties or Baltimore City, you must also obtain the local Secondhand Property license that is required by those jurisdictions.
Undergo a Maryland and Federal Criminal History Records Check, the results of which are sent to the Precious Metals program.
Meet with program personnel to review requirements of the law and regulations, responsibilities to local law enforcement agencies, and to review all submitted documentation.
Receipt of the Maryland and Federal Criminal History Records Check.
All corporations, limited liability companies, partnerships and limited liability partnerships are required to submit the following additional support documents:
- Evidence of the business’ Good Standing status with the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT). Evidence may be provided by printing a results screen from SDAT's Charter Record Search database. Once the business entity is located through the search, click on the "General Info" link. Print that window, and send it to the Department. There is no fee due to SDAT for printing the window.
- Articles of Incorporation (for corporations), partnership agreement, or organization or operational agreement
Apply for the License
Complete the form
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance -
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Renew license every 2 years, the fee for renewal is $260.
Why the License is required?
The mission of Maryland’s Secondhand Precious Metal Object Dealer & Pawnbrokers’ Licensing Program is to license and regulate individuals who buy or otherwise acquire from the public secondhand gold, silver, platinum and other precious metal objects, or otherwise trade with the public in secondhand precious metal objects. The program also regulates pawnbrokers in counties that do not have local laws that regulate pawnbrokers. The Department assists local law enforcement agencies by establishing standards for the licensing and the reporting of personal property acquired by dealers and pawnbrokers which results in the investigation of property crimes against Marylanders.
What laws and regulations give Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation the legal authority to issue this approval?