Registered Cemeterian, For-Profit License Details

Registered Cemeterian, For-Profit License

General Info - Statewide License

Maryland license for a Registered Cemeterian. A Registered Cemeterian, which is an individual registered to operate a cemetery and, for purposes of this license, must be affiliated with a for-profit cemetery operated by a registrant or permit holder to sell burial goods and services along with burial space to the public.

  • s

    Approval time

  • $150.00

    Application cost

Obtaining the License

Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents

  1. The applicant must be at least 18 years old.

  2. The applicant must be of good character and reputation.

  3. The applicant must be affiliated with a financially stable cemetery operated by a registrant or permit holder.

Apply for the License


License Issuer - Information

Who issues the license?

Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation

Contact Information

Office of Cemetery Oversight


Tel: (410) 230-6229 / Fax: (410) 962-8480

Work hours:


Why the License is required?

The purpose of the Office of Cemetery Oversight (OCO) is to provide high standards of performance in the death care industry, enhance healthy economic competition, promote consumer confidence in burial goods products and services and to provide structure and oversight to pre -planning arrangements. The OCO provides a responsive complaint/resolution process for consumers and operates a fair and effective regulatory enforcement system for cemeteries, monument dealers and sellers of burial goods and crematories that are subject to its regulatory authority. The primary objective for the OCO is to license and monitor sole proprietorships, individuals, partnerships, corporations and limited liability companies operating cemeteries as well as businesses providing burial goods and services to consumers, including monuments and memorials, in the State of Maryland. OCO also regulates and provides licensure for crematories, under their jurisdiction, in the state.

Legal Authority

What laws and regulations give Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation the legal authority to issue this approval?