Railroad Police Commission
General Info - Statewide License
A Railroad Police Officer is an individual who is at least 21 years old and employed by a Railroad Police Agency in Maryland to protect the property as described in the application.
The Maryland Railroad Police Act defines a railroad company as a railway company or corporation engaged as a common carrier in the furnishing or sale of transportation subject to Subtitle IV of Title 49 of the United States Code. A railroad police officer is an individual appointed by the Governor to act as the police officer for a railroad company. As such, there are no renewal processes related.
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Maryland State Police only accepts applications completed electronically by way of the applicable PDF form(s). All questions much be answered accurately, completely, and honestly. Once completed, the PDF form should be printed, signed, and mailed.
The application packet should be mailed to the Licensing Division.
All original applications require FBI and CJIS fingerprint submissions. Applicants must also submit two (2) color passport-type photographs of the applicant (2" x 2" square, light background, head and shoulder full face, no hat nor dark glasses). The photographs must have been taken within the last 30 days.
Apply for the License
Ready to apply?
Download the application .PDF file
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance -
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
There is no renewal associated with this appointment. An appointment remains in effect until (1) it is terminated by the railroad company that employs the railroad officer; or (2) it is revoked for cause by the Governor.
Why the License is required?
Railroad police officers in the state of Maryland protect property, patrons, passengers, tenants, employees, equipment, and services. They preserve the peace and order on railroad premises, easements, appurtenant property, trains, cars, and other vehicles.
What laws and regulations give Maryland Department of State Police the legal authority to issue this approval?
Title 49, Subtitle B, Chapter 11, Part 207 Annotated Code of Maryland, Public Safety Article, Title 3-401 to 3-415, COMAR Title 29 04 03