Qualified Handgun Instructor License
General Info - Statewide License
Qualified Handgun Instructors are responsible for qualifying students for Handgun Qualification Licenses and Handgun Carry Permits.
A QHI is a person licensed by the Maryland State Police as a firearm instructor who may instruct Handgun Qualification License applicants and Handgun Wear and Carry Permit applicants.
Valid from approval date
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Proof of the applicant’s formal training in the care, safety, and use of handguns, including a minimum qualification score of 80 percent on a practical police course.
Proof of the applicant’s minimum of 1 year of experience in instruction in the care, safety, and use of handguns.
Apply for the License
Ready to apply?
Online ApplicationApply Now
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance - Valid from approval date for
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Submit an updated qualification score sheet upon expiration.
What laws and regulations give Maryland Department of State Police the legal authority to issue this approval?
MD. CODE ANN., PUB. SAFETY §5-101 et seq. MD. CODE ANN., PUB. SAFETY §5-201 et seq. MD. CODE ANN., PUB. SAFETY §5-401 et seq. COMAR 29.03.01 COMAR 29.03.03