Propane Gas Fitter Certification
General Info - Statewide Certification
Certification for individuals working with propane gas in the state of Maryland, as issued by the Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation.
Valid from approval date
Obtaining the Certification
Ready to get your certification? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Person must hold a current certification of completion of the National Propane Gas Association certified training program for Distribution Systems Operation; or
Person must hold a gas fitters license from a county or municipal corporation authorizing the person to provide gas services under a licensing program in existence prior to July 1, 1995; or
Person must demonstrate to the Board that the person's qualifications are at least equivalent to the qualifications required by the National Propane Gas Association training program for distribution systems operations.
Proof of certification from the National Propane Gas Association in the following subjects - Basic Principles and Practices, Vapor Distribution, and Vapor Distribution System Installation.
Proof of $300,000 general liability insurance and $100,000 property damage insurance.
Apply for the Certification
Ready to apply?
Maintaining Your Certification
Renewal and maintenance - Valid from approval date for
Maintaining your Certification (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain Certification/stay in good standing)
Submit a renewal application.
Pay renewal fee.
Why the Certification is required?
The Maryland State Board of Plumbing licenses and regulates individuals who provide or assist in providing plumbing and gas services in Maryland. The Board also issues natural gas fitter licenses to qualified individuals who are non-plumbers. Both of these types of licenses are required for work throughout the state except for Baltimore County and the areas served by the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission (WSSC). These two jurisdictions issue their own licenses and have their own plumbing code. The State Plumbing Board also issues a certificate to qualified individuals who are non-plumbers to provide propane gas services throughout the entire state.
What laws and regulations give Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation the legal authority to issue this approval?
Title 12, Business Occupations and Professions and Professions, Annotated Code of Maryland, and Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 9.20