Private Detective Agencies License
General Info - Statewide License
Maryland license for PD agencies to conduct business, maintain an office, employ individuals, and represent to the public.
A Private Detective Agency License is Required to: (1) Conduct business that provides private detective services for compensation (2) Maintain an office for that business (3) Employ individuals as private detectives (4) Represent to the public as a private detective agency. Private detective services include, but are not limited to: conducting investigations, securing evidence for use before any investigating committee or board of arbitration, non-uniformed personal protection and locating or apprehending fugitives from justice. For more information, refer to Business Occupations and Professions Title 13.
$200.0 - $400.0
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
An applicant may be either an individual or a firm.
An individual shall be of good character and reputation. If the applicant is a firm, each firm member shall be of good character and reputation.
The individual or firm representative shall be at least 25 years old.
All applicants shall meet the required experience outlined below:
1.) At least 5 years of experience as a full-time certified or licensed private detective; OR
2.) At least: 5 years of experience as a full-time police officer with an organized police agency; AND completed successfully a police officer training course that is recognized and approved by the Maryland Police Training Commission; OR
3.) At least 3 years of experience in an investigative capacity as a detective while serving as a police officer with an organized police agency; OR
4.) At least: 3 years of experience in an investigative capacity in any unit of the United States, of the State, or of a county or municipal corporation of the State for the purpose of law enforcement; AND completed successfully the police officer training required by the Maryland Police Training Commission; OR
5.) At least: 5 years of experience as a full-time fire investigator for a fire department or law enforcement agency of the State or of a county or municipal corporation of the State; AND completed successfully the training certified by the Maryland Police Training Commission or the Maryland Fire-Rescue Education and Training Commission.
Submit two (2) passport size photos.
Submit two (2) tax forms.
Submit articles of incorporation.
Apply for the License
Ready to apply?
Download the application .PDF file
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance -
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Stay in GOOD STANDING with The State Comptroller's Office - Department of Taxation.
Must maintain insurance.
What laws and regulations give Maryland Department of State Police the legal authority to issue this approval?
Business Occupations and Professions Title 13 & Title 19. C.O.M.A.R. Title 29 Subtitle 04 Licensing and Permits