Private Applicator Certificate
General Info - Statewide Certification
Maryland certification for a person who uses a restricted use pesticide for the purpose of producing an agricultural commodity on property owned or rented by the applicator or applicator's employer.
Obtaining the Certification
Ready to get your certification? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Must be 16 years old or older.
Pass (with a score of at least 70%) an examination given by the department.
Apply for the Certification
Ready to apply?
Download the application .PDF file
Maintaining Your Certification
Renewal and maintenance -
Maintaining your Certification (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain Certification/stay in good standing)
Demonstrating knowledge of pesticide use by participating, within the 12 months before expiration of the current certificate, in a training course approved by the Department.
Why the Certification is required?
The Pesticide Regulation Section administers Maryland's Pesticide Applicator's Law, approves training courses in the handling, storage and use of pesticides, conducts examinations to determine that pesticide applicators are competent to follow prescribed pest control practices, enforces federal laws on the sale and use of pesticides, and investigates pesticide accidents or incidents and consumer complaints on pesticide misuse.
What laws and regulations give Department of Agriculture the legal authority to issue this approval?
State Statue - Pesticide Applicator's Law; COMAR 15.05.01