Pilot License Details

Pilot License

General Info - Statewide License


The State Board of Pilots licenses and regulates pilots who pilot vessels on the navigable waters of the State of Maryland. 


  • Valid from approval date

    for

  • s

    Approval time

  • $200.0 - $600.0

    Application cost

Obtaining the License

Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents

  1. A pilot-in-training who is selected by the Board shall serve under the supervision of unlimited licensed pilots for at least 2 years after being selected before being issued a limited license to pilot vessels not exceeding 32 feet of draught.

  2. A 32-foot licensed pilot, after one year and upon demonstrating to the satisfaction of the Board sufficient ability, skill and experience, may be granted a raise in grade to a 36-foot limited license.

  3. A 36-foot limited licensed pilot, after one year and upon demonstrating to the satisfaction of the Board sufficient ability, skill and experience, may be granted a raise in grade to a 40-foot limited license.

  4. A 40-foot limited licensed pilot, after one year and upon demonstrating to the satisfaction of the Board sufficient ability, skill and experience, may be granted a raise in grade to an unlimited license.


Apply for the License

Ready to apply?

Agency/Contact

License Issuer - Information

Who issues the license?

Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation

Contact Information

Joseph H. Cullingford, Executive Director

Email: dloplpilots-dllr@maryland.gov

Tel: (410) 230-6262

Work hours:



Legal Authority

What laws and regulations give Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation the legal authority to issue this approval?

Business Occupations and Professions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, Title 11, and the Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 9, Subtitle 26.