Pest Control Applicator Certificate
General Info - Statewide Certification
Maryland-issued certification for a person engaged in the business of pest control, including, except as provided by the Secretary, a person who applies pesticides on any premises where the public is commonly invited for the sale of goods or services.
$0.00 - $350.00
Obtaining the Certification
Ready to get your certification? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
One year of experience acceptable to the Department as a full-time registered employee engaged in those categories in which the applicant seeks to be certified (proof of experience may include affidavits from former employers, certification or license from other states or the federal government) OR a degree or academic certificate acceptable to the Department OR a combination of education and experience acceptable to the Department.
Degree or academic certificate.
Employment verification form.
Maintaining Your Certification
Renewal and maintenance -
Maintaining your Certification (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain Certification/stay in good standing)
Apply to the department.
Demonstrating satisfactory knowledge of pesticide use by attending a training course approved by the department or by reexamination.
Pay an annual fee of $75 plus $25 for each category in excess of one (public agency applicators are exempt from the fee).
Why the Certification is required?
The Pesticide Regulation Section administers Maryland's Pesticide Applicator's Law; approves training courses in the handling, storage, and use of pesticides; conducts examinations to determine whether pesticide applicators are competent to follow prescribed pest control practices; enforces federal laws on the sale and use of pesticides; and investigates pesticide accidents or incidents and consumer complaints on pesticide misuse.
What laws and regulations give Department of Agriculture the legal authority to issue this approval?
State Statute - Pesticide Applicator's Law; COMAR 15.05.01