General Info - Statewide License
In Maryland, an individual who wishes to be commissioned as a notary public may obtain an application from Office of the Secretary of State. After an application is submitted to the secretary of state, it then goes to the state senator of the applicant's senatorial district. If the senator approves the application, it is returned to the secretary of state, and appointment will be made upon approval of the governor.
Valid from approval date
$20.0 - $22.0
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Must be 18 years old, of good character, of known good character, integrity and abilities.
Must be living or working in the State of Maryland.
A copy of Driver's License or MVA State Identification Card that has current address.
Three references (not family members or your employer) who may be contacted to attest to your character.
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance - Valid from approval date for
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Pay renewal fees within 30 days after issuance of notice of renewal.
License Issuer - Information
Tel: (410) 974-5521
What laws and regulations give Secretary of State the legal authority to issue this approval?
Annotated Code of Maryland
State Government Article, Title 18, Notaries Public.