New Resident Regulated Firearms Registration Details

New Resident Regulated Firearms Registration

General Info - Statewide Registration


Registration of regulated firearms for new residents of Maryland.

As part of the Firearms Safety Act of 2013 effective October 1, 2013, a person who moves into Maryland with the intent of becoming a resident shall register all regulated firearms with the Secretary of the Maryland Department of State Police within 90 days after establishing residency.


  • s

    Approval time

  • $15.00

    Application cost

Obtaining the Registration

Ready to get your registration? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents

  1. The new resident registration shall include the make, model, manufacturer’s serial number, caliber, type, barrel length, finish, and country of origin for each regulated firearms.


Apply for the Registration

Ready to apply?

  • Online Application

Agency/Contact

Registration Issuer - Information

Who issues the registration?

Maryland Department of State Police

Contact Information

Licensing Division HQL Unit

Tel: (410) 653-4577 / Fax: (410) 653-4036

Work hours:



Legal Authority

What laws and regulations give Maryland Department of State Police the legal authority to issue this approval?

MD. CODE ANN., PUB. SAFETY §5-101 et seq. MD. CODE ANN., PUB. SAFETY §5-201 et seq. MD. CODE ANN., PUB. SAFETY §5-401 et seq. COMAR 29.03.01 COMAR 29.03.03