Master Natural Gas Fitter License
General Info - Statewide License
Advanced level of licensure in the gas fitter trade for the state of Maryland.
A Master Natural Gas Fitter license allows an individual to provide natural gas services.
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Persons must have a current master gas fitter license from Baltimore City, Baltimore County or WSSC.
Have at least four years of experience, and completed an approved training program.
Possess an HVACR master or master restricted license, have at least two years of gas fitting experience as a journey gas fitter under a master gas fitter, plumber or HVACR master, who is found to be approved, and pass an examination with a score of at least 70%.
Maryland has reciprocal licensing agreements with the state of Delaware, WSSC and Baltimore County. If you are licensed in one of these three states and meet the other minimum qualifications you do not need to take an exam to be licensed in Maryland. The qualifications to obtain a reciprocal license in Maryland are found (click here) .
Employment certification form.
Proof of completion of gas course
Certificate of insurance proving $300,000 in general liability insurance.and $100,000 in property damage insurance.
Apply for the License
Ready to apply?
Online ApplicationApply Now
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance -
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Complete renewal application.
Pay renewal fee.
Why the License is required?
The Maryland State Board of Plumbing licenses and regulates individuals who provide or assist in providing plumbing and gas services in Maryland. The Board also issues natural gas fitter licenses to qualified individuals who are non-plumbers. Both of these types of licenses are required for work throughout the state except for Baltimore County and the areas served by the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission (WSSC). These two jurisdictions issue their own licenses and have their own plumbing code. The State Plumbing Board also issues a certificate to qualified individuals who are non-plumbers to provide propane gas services throughout the entire state.
What laws and regulations give Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation the legal authority to issue this approval?
Title 12, Business Occupations and Professions and Professions, Annotated Code of Maryland, and Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 9.20