Maryland Veterinary License - Reinstatement Details

Maryland Veterinary License - Reinstatement

General Info - Statewide License


Veterinarians who were once licensed in Maryland but have not been licensed in the state for the last five years or more must apply for a reinstated license to resume practicing veterinary medicine in the state.


  • - s

    Approval time

  • $225.00

    Application cost

Obtaining the License

Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents

  1. License verification from other states

  2. Complete resume and CV

  3. This document provides more information on documentation and process.


Apply for the License

Ready to apply?

  • Online Application
  • Download form

    Download the application .PDF file

    Download Form

Maintaining Your License

Renewal and maintenance -

Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)

  1. Veterinarians must earn 18 hours of continuing education every year. No more than six hours may be earned online. A maximum of six hours may be in non-scientific-related topics related to the practice of veterinary medicine.

Agency/Contact

License Issuer - Information

Who issues the license?

Department of Agriculture

Contact Information

State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners

Email: mda.veterinaryboard@maryland.gov

Tel: (410) 841-5862 / Fax: (410) 841-5780

Work hours:



Legal Authority

What laws and regulations give Department of Agriculture the legal authority to issue this approval?

Annotated Code of Maryland Agriculture Article, Title 2, Subtitle 3. COMAR 15.14