Maryland Veterinary License
General Info - Statewide License
This application is for first-time veterinarians who have never practiced. Veterinarians who were once licensed in Maryland but have not been licensed here in more than five years may also use this application to re-register to practice.
$75.0 - $150.0
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Be graduated from an AVMA-accredited or approved school of veterinary medicine
Successfully complete the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE)
Please go to the following website to see all required documentation for a veterinary license.
Apply for the License
Ready to apply?
Download the application .PDF file
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance -
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Must complete 18 hours of Continuing Education every fiscal year. Only six hours may be done online. No more than six hours may be directed toward non-scientific subjects related to the practice of veterinary medicine.
What laws and regulations give Department of Agriculture the legal authority to issue this approval?
Annotated Code of Maryland, Agriculture Article 2-304 and 2-307