Licensed Tree Expert Details

Licensed Tree Expert

General Info - Statewide License

All tree care professionals practicing in Maryland must obtain a license. Without a license, they may not practice or advertise tree care services in the state.  

A "Tree expert" means a person who represents to the public that the person is skilled in the science of tree care or removal and who, whether in the business of the person or as the employee of another person and whether under the title of arborist, tree specialist, tree surgeon, tree expert, or otherwise, engages in the business or work of the treatment, care, or removal of trees for compensation. Adopted in 1945, the Maryland Tree Expert Law addresses tree care work done for compensation on private or public property in Maryland.

  • - s

    Approval time

  • $30.00

    Application cost

Obtaining the License

Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents

  1. Pay the fee provided in § 5-419

  2. Must be 18 years or older.

  3. Has had two years of approved college education in forestry, arboriculture, horticulture, applied agricultural sciences, or the equivalent education; with a minimum of one year’s experience with a licensed tree expert in Maryland or with an acceptable tree expert company in another state; or for at least three years immediately preceding the date of his application been engaged continuously in practice as a tree expert with a licensed tree expert in Maryland or with an acceptable tree expert company in another state.

  4. Has passed the examination given by the department.

  5. Proof of liability and property damage insurance, in the form and amount required by the Department at the time it issued the license.

Apply for the License

Maintaining Your License

Renewal and maintenance -

Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)

  1. Submit the completed application, accompanied by the $20.00 renewal fee and proof of valid insurance, to the address on the application.

  2. Applications are due January 1st and must be received by January 31st. Individuals that experience a lapse of license by failing to renew their license by the due date following the last year of licensure, and who wish to be licensed, must reapply for licensure. This includes taking and passing the current version of the Tree Expert Licensing Exam.

  3. Licensed Tree Experts are required to obtain 8 continuing education credits over the two year period prior to their renewal.

  4. The licensee shall maintain the insurance protection for the period the license is in effect.

  5. Please visit this page for more information about the Licensed Tree Expert renewal process, including access to the Catalog of Pre-approved Events, A Post Event Approval Form, and to view our record of your continuing education credits log onto your LTE account .


License Issuer - Information

Who issues the license?

Department of Natural Resources

Contact Information

Maryland Forest Service - Marian Honeczy


Tel: (410) 260-8531 / Fax: (410) 260-8595

Work hours:


Why the License is required?

The purpose of the law is to provide a layer of consumer protection by licensing qualified and insured tree care companies and individuals.

Legal Authority

What laws and regulations give Department of Natural Resources the legal authority to issue this approval?