Journeyman Plumber/Gas Fitter License Details

Journeyman Plumber/Gas Fitter License

General Info - Statewide License

Intermediate level of licensure required for work in the plumbing trade of the state of Maryland.

A Journey Plumber/Gasfitter license allows an individual to provide plumbing services while under the direction and control of a master plumber or holder of a limited master plumber license.

  • s

    Approval time

  • $35.00

    Application cost

Obtaining the License

Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents

  1. Person must have held an apprentice license for at least four years.

  2. Person must have completed 7,500 hours of training under the control and direction of a licensed master plumber.

  3. Person must have completed 32 hours of training in backflow prevention device testing.

  4. Person must pass a comprehensive written examination with a score of at least 75 %.

  5. Maryland has reciprocal licensing agreements with WSSC and Baltimore County. If you are licensed in one of these three states and meet the other minimum qualifications you do not need to take an exam to be licensed in Maryland. The qualifications to obtain a reciprocal license in Maryland are found here.

  6. Employment verification form.

  7. W-2 forms.

Apply for the License

  • Online Application

    Complete the form

    Apply Now

Maintaining Your License

Renewal and maintenance -

Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)

  1. Complete renewal application.

  2. Pay renewal fee.


License Issuer - Information

Who issues the license?

Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation

Contact Information

Raquel Meyers


Tel: (410) 230-6379 / Fax: (410) 244-0977

Work hours:


Why the License is required?

The Maryland State Board of Plumbing licenses and regulates individuals who provide or assist in providing plumbing and gas services in Maryland. The Board also issues natural gas fitter licenses to qualified individuals who are non-plumbers. Both of these types of licenses are required for work throughout the state except for Baltimore County and the areas served by the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission (WSSC). These two jurisdictions issue their own licenses and have their own plumbing code. The State Plumbing Board also issues a certificate to qualified individuals who are non-plumbers to provide propane gas services throughout the entire state.

Legal Authority

What laws and regulations give Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation the legal authority to issue this approval?