Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Master License
General Info - Statewide License
A master license allows an individual to provide heating, ventilation, air-conditioning, or refrigeration services in the state of Maryland.
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Must have been licensed as a journeyman and regularly and principally employed to provide all areas of HVACR services for at least three years of active experience under the direction and control of a HVACR master.
Worked a minimum of 1,875 hours in the year prior to applying for the master license.
Passed the master examination with a score of 70%.
Currently hold a journeyman or higher level license.
Maryland has reciprocal licensing agreements with Delaware and Virginia. If you are licensed in one of these two states and meet the other minimum qualifications, you do not need to take an exam to be licensed in Maryland. The qualifications to obtain a reciprocal license in Maryland are found here.
Proof of 3 years of licensure as a licensed HVACR journeyman working in all areas of HVACR services under the direction and control of a licensed Master HVACR contractor.
Proof of 1,875 hours of work in the year prior to submitting the application.
Certificate of insurance proving $300,000 in general liability insurance and $100,000 in property damage insurance.
Apply for the License
Ready to apply?
Online ApplicationApply Now
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance -
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Submit a renewal application.
Pay renewal fee.
Why the License is required?
The Maryland Board of Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration (HVACR) Contractors licenses and regulates individuals who provide commercial and residential HVACR services pursuant to the provisions of Business Regulation Article 9A, Annotated Code of Maryland, and COMAR 09.15. The Board is also authorized to adopt applicable regulations for the provision of HVACR services, including codes and minimum standards for the installation, alteration, remodeling, maintenance, and repair of heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration systems. The Board investigates complaints against licensees and complaints related to unlicensed practice. The Board may pursue disciplinary charges against an individual for violations of applicable laws or regulations, conduct hearings, and, if warranted, impose administrative sanctions, including suspension or revocation and/or imposing a civil penalty up to $5,000 for each violation of a law and regulation.
What laws and regulations give Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation the legal authority to issue this approval?
Business Regulation Article 9A, Annotated Code of Maryland, and Code of Maryland Regulations 09.15.