Fur Dealer Permit - Resident Details

Fur Dealer Permit - Resident

General Info - Statewide Permit


A permit to buy, acquire, sell, transport, ship, or store at any time any fur or pelt of any wild furbearer (fox, raccoon, skunk, weasel, fisher, coyote, opossum, mink, otter, beaver, muskrat) taken within or outside the State of Maryland.


  • - s

    Approval time

  • $50.00

    Application cost

Obtaining the Permit

Ready to get your permit? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents

  1. There is a six-month residency requirement to obtain a resident Fur Dealer’s License, which means the person must have resided permanently in the State for a period of not less than 6 months immediately preceding the time of application.


Apply for the Permit

Ready to apply?

  • Online Application
  • Download form

    Download the application .PDF file

    Download Form

Maintaining Your Permit

Renewal and maintenance -

Maintaining your Permit (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain Permit/stay in good standing)

  1. Each fur dealer shall keep a ledger on a form provided by the Department which includes the name, address, and current hunting, trapping, fur dealer’s, taxidermist and fur tanner’s, or game husbandry license number of each person from whom any fur was purchased or received within or outside the State, the date of purchase or receipt, the quantity of each species of furs purchased, and the country, state, and county or political subdivision where the furs were taken, and identifies any appropriate official game or fur possession tag number or bill of sale. The ledger must state the final disposition of the furs and the date disposed of. Disposition includes selling, transporting, shipping, storing, or otherwise using or possessing the furs.

  2. The licensee shall also include the same information with regard to any wildlife taken from the wild by the licensee. The ledger shall cover every transaction from date of issuance of the fur dealer’s license until date of expiration and shall be kept up-to-date.

  3. An annual report is required to renew this permit.

Agency/Contact

Permit Issuer - Information

Who issues the permit?

Department of Natural Resources dnr.maryland.gov

Contact Information

Permits Coordinator

Tel: (410) 260-8540

Work hours:



Legal Authority

What laws and regulations give Department of Natural Resources the legal authority to issue this approval?

Natural Resources Article, §10-506, Annotated Code of Maryland