General Info - Statewide License
License required for residents and nonresidents of Maryland to guide fishing parties.
Required for residents and nonresidents of Maryland to guide fishing parties in all tidal waters of the State. Due to limit in licenses it is not possible to say how long an individual might have to wait to receive this license. You may get on the wait list for this license at any time.
$100.0 - $200.0
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
United States Coast Guard Captains License
Apply for the License
Ready to apply?
Download the application .PDF file
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance -
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Must be renewed every year. Regular renewal period is August 1 to August 31.
Why the License is required?
Allows for residents of Maryland to guide fishing parties
What laws and regulations give Department of Natural Resources the legal authority to issue this approval?
Natural Resources Article, 4-701, Annotated Code of Maryland