Elevator Contractor License Details

Elevator Contractor License

General Info - Statewide License


This Maryland license, as issued by Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation, is for a company or person who is engaged in the business of erecting, constructing, wiring, altering, replacing, maintaining, repairing, dismantling, or servicing elevators or accessibility lift units.


  • Valid from approval date

    for

  • - s

    Approval time

  • $300.00

    Application cost

Obtaining the License

Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents

  1. Proof of 5 years' experience in the elevator industry in construction, maintenance, or repair.

  2. Copy of applicant's curriculum vitae.

  3. Current Maryland tax clearance with the original state Department of Taxation stamp.

  4. Copy of Certificate of Liability insurance showing general liability insurance in the amount of at least $1,000,000 and property damage insurance in the amount of at least $500,000.

  5. Copy of worker's compensation insurance issued by an insurer to do business in Maryland.

  6. If the applicant is a corporation other than a domestic corporation, Maryland law requires all applicants to provide the name of a person physically located in the state to act as a resident agent for service of process.


Apply for the License

Ready to apply?

Maintaining Your License

Renewal and maintenance - Valid from approval date for

Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)

  1. Complete renewal application.

  2. Pay renewal fee.

Agency/Contact

License Issuer - Information

Who issues the license?

Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation dllr.maryland.gov

Contact Information

Sean Heeter

Email: sean.heeter@maryland.gov

Tel: (410) 230-6196 / Fax: (410) 244-0977

Work hours:



Purpose

Why the License is required?


The Maryland Elevator Safety Review Board licenses and regulates individuals who engage in the business of erecting, constructing, wiring, altering, replacing, maintaining, repairing, dismantling, or servicing elevators, dumbwaiters, escalators, and moving walks. The Board investigates complaints against licensees as well as complaints related to unlicensed practice. The Board may issue a reprimand, suspend or revoke a license and/or assess a civil penalty up to $5,000 for violations of the law and regulations.


Legal Authority

What laws and regulations give Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation the legal authority to issue this approval?

Public Safety Article, Title 12, Subtitle 8, Part III, Annotated Code of Maryland, Title 9, Subtitle 35, Code of Maryland Regulations Title 09.35