Controlled Hazardous Substances Facility Permit
General Info - Statewide Permit
The Controlled Hazardous Substance (CHS) Facility permit is required for the construction and operation of a facility used to treat, store, or dispose of hazardous waste in the state of Maryland.
$12,000.0 - $65,000.0
Obtaining the Permit
Ready to get your permit? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Applicant submits an application fee and an application with supporting documents.
Local zoning and land use approvals may be required.
A corrective action permit is required from the EPA, and the application for this should be submitted concurrently with the CHS application to the Department.
Apply for the Permit
Ready to apply?
Online ApplicationApply Now
What laws and regulations give Maryland Department of Environment the legal authority to issue this approval?
FEDERAL: Resource Conservation and Recovery Act - Subtitle C.
STATE: Title 7, Subtitle 2, Annotated Code of Maryland; COMAR 26.13.07.