Child Placement Agency License Details

Child Placement Agency License

General Info - Statewide License


The Office of Licensing and Monitoring within the Department of Human Services approves and licenses child placement agencies (CPA) as out-of-home care providers entrusted with the safety and well-being of the children in their care, ages birth to 20 years of age.  This includes treatment foster care (TFC), independent living programs (ILP), and adoption agencies in the state of Maryland. 


  • s

    Approval time

  • $0.00

    Application cost

Obtaining the License

Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents

  1. Prerequisites may be required based on COMAR 07.05.01-.04 and 07.02.21.

  2. Required documentation is based on COMAR 07.05.01-.04 and 07.02.21.


Apply for the License

Ready to apply?

  • Online Application

Agency/Contact

License Issuer - Information

Who issues the license?

Department of Human Resources

Contact Information

Helen Murray-Miller

Email: Helen.Murray-Miller@Maryland.gov

Tel: (410) 767-7198

Work hours:



Legal Authority

What laws and regulations give Department of Human Resources the legal authority to issue this approval?

COMAR 07.05.01-.04 and 07.02.21.