Interior Designer Certification
General Info - Statewide License
This license may be issued by the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation to those individuals who complete the required education and have passed the National Council of Interior Designer Qualification examination (NCIDQ).
Valid from approval date
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.
Have passed the National Council of Interior Design Qualification Examination or its equivalent.
Have satisfied education and experience requirements necessary to qualify for the National Council of Interior Design Qualification Examination (NCIDQ), or its equivalent, as determined by the Board.
Apply for the License
Ready to apply?
Online ApplicationApply Now
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance - Valid from approval date for
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
A continuing education unit consists of 10 hours of study. of which 1 hour must focus on principles of green (sustainable) design.
License Issuer - Information
Tel: (410) 230-6261
Why the License is required?
The State Board of Certified Interior Designers certifies and regulates certified interior designers. The Board also investigates complaints against certified interior designers.
What laws and regulations give Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation the legal authority to issue this approval?
Certified Interior Designers are regulated under the provisions of Business Occupations and Professions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, Title 8 and the Code of Maryland Regulations 09.18.01.00