Certification Of Machines Emitting Radiation
General Info - Statewide Certification
All radiation machines in Maryland, except those used in mammography, dental, and veterinary practices, must be certified as meeting State performance standards to ensure minimal health risk and optimal safety of anyone exposed to its radiation. Affected facilities include hospitals, clinics, industries, government facilities, and academic institutions that house operable x-ray machines.
$220.0 - $875.0
Obtaining the Certification
Ready to get your certification? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Owners must have a State-licensed private inspector inspect the machine(s).
The inspector certifies to the Department that the machine functions properly and that necessary repairs have been made if violations were cited.
The Department issues a certification approval letter. A state sticker with a unique machine number plus suffix must be affixed to the machine.
Apply for the Certification
Ready to apply?
Online ApplicationApply Now
Why the Certification is required?
To ensure minimal health risk and optimal safety of anyone exposed to radiation from certain types of equipment.
What laws and regulations give Maryland Department of Environment the legal authority to issue this approval?
FEDERAL: 21 Code of Federal Regulations, Chapter I, Subchapter J.
STATE: Environment Article, Title 8, Subtitle 3; COMAR 26.12.02