General Info - Statewide License
This Maryland license allows individuals to provide brokerage services in the state of Maryland as a broker. Licenses are granted for a two-year term beginning on the date they were issued.
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
An applicant shall be of good character and reputation.
An applicant shall be at least 18 years old.
If an applicant is qualified to practice law in the State, the Commission shall waive the educational and experience requirements noted in above prerequisite.
Unless qualified to practice law in the State, an applicant shall have completed successfully a course in real estate approved by the Commission for real estate brokers that includes a 3 hour course in real estate ethics approved by the Commission; and have been a licensed real estate salesperson and have actively and lawfully provided real estate brokerage services for at least 3 years.
An applicant shall pass an examination given by the Commission under § 17-306 of this subtitle.
An applicant shall meet any other requirement that the Commission establishes to ensure that only individuals who are professionally competent and of good character and reputation are licensed.
If applicant has a criminal conviction, they must request a paper application by calling 410-230-6200.
Applicant shall include with the paper application and fee, a letter from the broker they will be affiliating with, acknowledging they have been made aware of the charges.
Applicant shall submit a true test copy of the charges from any and all courts in which they have been convicted of a crime.
A credit report, for the individual, that is not more than one year old is required.
Applicant must submit the name and address of the business, in addition to, escrow account information, evidence business is registered with Maryland Department of Assessment and Taxation, and complete franchise agreement, if applicable.
Apply for the License
Ready to apply?
Online ApplicationApply Now
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance -
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Complete 15 hours of continuing education every renewal period.
Why the License is required?
The Commission was created to protect the health, safety and welfare of the public through examination, licensing, and regulatory activities, to uphold and apply the governing real estate laws and regulations equally to all, to provide courteous, reasonable, and professional assistance, and to impartially conduct disciplinary actions.
What laws and regulations give Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation the legal authority to issue this approval?