Boxing/Kickboxing/MMA/Wresting - Officiating Referee License
General Info - Statewide License
The Maryland State Athletic Commission licenses referees to officiate in the sports of professional boxing, amateur and professional kick boxing, amateur and professional mixed martial arts (MMA), and professional wrestling in the State of Maryland.
The Maryland State Athletic Commission manages, supervises and regulates the sports of boxing, kick boxing, mixed martial arts and professional wrestling in the State of Maryland. The Commission establishes high health and safety standards for the participants in these sports. Referees must be licensed in accordance with these standards. The Commission carries out its mission by reflecting, and maintaining, safety and fairness as its guiding principles. The Commission strives to be fully attentive to, and supportive of, the various needs of licensees engaged in their respective fields and professions. The Commission’s strong commitment to regulatory excellence is reflected through the work and integrity of its experienced staff of officials, inspectors and ringside physicians.
$15.0 - $150.0
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Be at least 18 years old.
Complete a course of training, approved by the Commission, which encompasses the elements of officiating in a boxing, kickboxing or MMA contest.
Achieve a score of at least 70% on an examination administered by the Commission.
Successfully complete annual physical and ophthalmological exams.
The Commission may waive certain requirements for a nonresident referee applicant in a boxing, kickboxing or MMA contest if the applicant submits a certification from another state or tribal regulatory agency verifying that the applicant is qualified to act as a referee in the sport in which the applicant seeks to officiate.
Apply for the License
Ready to apply?
Download the application .PDF file
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance -
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Submit a renewal application.
Pay renewal fee.
Why the License is required?
The Commission carries out its mission by reflecting, and maintaining, safety and fairness as its guiding principles. Referees must be licensed and regulated in accordance with these principles.
What laws and regulations give Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation the legal authority to issue this approval?