Board of Occupational Therapy - Occupational Therapist
General Info - Statewide License
The Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy Practice licenses individuals seeking occupational therapy licensure.
The State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice (the "Board") operates under the provisions of Title 10 of the Health Occupations Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland. The Board is the licensing authority of occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants in the State of Maryland. The Board is mandated to regulate the practice of occupational therapy in Maryland by licensing qualified occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants, establishing fees, maintaining a current roster of all licensees, promulgating regulations for the practice of occupational therapy, verification of credentials, issuance of licenses, establish requirements for a verification of completion of continuing education, investigation of complaints based on alleged violations of regulations and statutes, formal and informal disciplining of licensees, and create committees as deemed appropriate to advise the Board. The program is 100% special funded. The fund is supported exclusively by revenues generated by licensing fees.
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Must be at least 18 years old
Graduated from an educational program in occupational therapy that is recognized by the Board and accredited by ACOTE or any other nationally recognized programmatic accrediting agency
Completed the equivalent of at least 6 months of supervised, full-time field work experience at a recognized educational institution or in a training program approved by the educational institution where the applicant met the academic requirements.
Passed the appropriate examination given by NBCOT or any other national credentialing organization.
Submitted to a criminal history records check.
Application with fee
Criminal History Records Check
Verification from any state(s) or country(ies) in which you are currently or have been licensed
Apply for the License
Ready to apply?
Download the application .PDF file
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance -
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Maintain current NBCOT certification; or
Complete 24 CEUs during the two years preceding the license's expiration date
Why the License is required?
The Board's mission is to protect the citizens of Maryland and to promote quality health care in the filed of occupational therapy by:
1. Licensing occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants;
2. Setting standards for the practice of occupational therapy through regulations and legislation; and
3. Receiving and resolving complaints from the public regarding occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants who have violated the occupational therapy law (Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations Article, Title 10) and its regulations found at COMAR 10.46.
What laws and regulations give Department of Health and Mental Hygiene the legal authority to issue this approval?
Title 10 of the Health Occupations Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland and COMAR 10.46