Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators
General Info - Statewide License
The Maryland State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators was formed in 1970. The State of Maryland participates in the Title XIX Medical Assistance Program, and the existence of a Nursing Home Administrators Board is a Federal requirement (see U.S. Code, Title 42 § 139g and Code of Federal Regulations, Title 42, Part 431, Subpart N). During the 2015 Maryland General Assembly session, the Board's sunset date was repealed because the Board was deemed by the Department of Legislative Services to be functioning well in fulfilling its mandate and because allowing the Board to sunset would jeopardize over $560 million in Medical Assistance funds for the state’s nursing home facilities.
All licensed nursing home facilities in Maryland are required to be run by licensed nursing home administrators. This is also a nation-wide requirement for licensed nursing home facilities.
Valid from approval date
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
In the State of Maryland, a person becomes licensed either through a 12-month Administrator-in-Training Program or through Endorsement, if he/she has practiced as an LNHA for a minimum of 1 year as the administrator of record in another state. Therefore, there are multiple application types on the Board's website.
The Board requires applicants to pass the Maryland State's Standards Exam as well as the NAB (national) Exam in order to be licensed.
The Board requires all Licensees, Administrators-in Training and Endorsement applicants to submit to a one-time criminal history records check.
The Board requires all applicants to take a Board-approved 100-hour nursing home administrator course, with the following exceptions: 1) He/she holds a bachelors or masters degree in Healthcare Administration; or 2) He/she has practiced as an LNHA in another state for a minimum of 3 years.
All Administrator-in-Training applicants are required to secure their own preceptors and to attend an in-person meeting, along with their preceptors, before the Board's Credentials Committee prior to being approved to begin their training programs. The Board's website lists all due dates for application packages with the corresponding Credentials Committee Meeting dates. The Board Office contacts all applicants with confirmations of meeting dates and arrival times.
A minimum of a bachelor's degree is required to apply to be a licensed nursing home administrator, with the exception of registered nurses who meet the requirements detailed at Section 9-302(f)(1) of the Annotated Code of Maryland.
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance - Valid from approval date for
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
All licensees are required to take 40 NAB-approved CEU's per renewal cycle, which is every two years.
Why the License is required?
The existence of a Nursing Home Administrators Board is a Federal requirement (see U.S. Code, Title 42 § 139g and Code of Federal Regulations, Title 42, Part 431, Subpart N). The mission of the Board is to protect the citizens of Maryland by training, licensing, and providing oversight and discipline to all Licensed Nursing Home Administrators in the state.
What laws and regulations give Department of Health and Mental Hygiene the legal authority to issue this approval?
Title 9 Health Occupations Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland; Code of Maryland Regulations 10.33.01