Asbestos Contractor License Details
Asbestos Contractor License
General Info - Statewide License
The purpose of this license is to minimize the risk of asbestos exposure to workers and to the public. Businesses, contractors and others engaged in any activities involving the disturbance of friable asbestos must apply for this license.
$0.00 - $625.00
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Business entities may be required to provide proof of the current status of their firm, corporation, business concern, etc. and must supply documentation to MDE upon request.
If you are an out-of-state company but have a local office that will oversee the daily operation of Maryland projects, please be sure to provide that address for the computer database. This will ensure that information is disseminated to appropriate individuals and offices.
You must answer all questions completely on the application form, including schedules I, II and III. Failure to provide all of the information requested in this application will delay the review and approval process. Do not submit your company's work practices manual in response to the information requested in this application. It will be discarded and your application considered incomplete.
You must be familiar with, and understand, both COMAR and NESHAP regulations. [COMAR (code of Maryland regulations 26.11.21. Control of asbestos and NESHAP (national emission standards for hazardous air pollutants) 40 CFR 61, subpart m, asbestos regulations]. You are responsible for applying those regulations in daily asbestos-related activities.
Please provide your workers’ compensation policy binder number or a copy of a certificate of compliance with Maryland Workers’ Compensation Act (Environment Article, § 1-202). Without this, we will not issue a license to remove/encapsulate asbestos. If you have any questions, please call Workman’s Compensation Commission at 410-864-5100 or 800-492-0479.
Apply for the License
Complete the form
Download the application .PDF file
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance -
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Renewal applications must be submitted not sooner than 90 and no later than 30 days before current license expires. if expired, submit as "late renewal".
License Issuer - Information
Who issues the license?
Tel: (410) 537-3200