Apprentice Limited Nail Technician License
General Info - Statewide License
One year permit that allows candidate to apprentice as a nail technician in a licensed barbershop or beauty salon, in the state of Maryland, under the sponsorship of a Senior Cosmetologist or Nail Technician with at least two years of experience.
Limited to a one-year original license; Must complete an application and sponsorship form which must be signed by a licensed senior cosmetologist or two-year licensed nail technician; Must complete eight months of training with at least 20 hours per week.
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Must be at least 16 years of age and have completed 9th grade or G.E.D;
Both the sponsor and the apprentice must participate in an orientation class administered by the Board. Once your completed application is approved we will notify you with a date to attend next available orientation session.
Apply for the License
Ready to apply?
Online ApplicationApply Now
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance -
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Complete renewal application.
Pay renewal fee.
Why the License is required?
The Maryland Board of Cosmetologists qualifies and licenses individuals seeking licensure and issues permits to business entities through which cosmetology is practiced. The Board also establishes health and safety standards for the operation of beauty salons and trade schools.
What laws and regulations give Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation the legal authority to issue this approval?
We regulate the practice of cosmetology under the provisions of Business Occupations and Professions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, Title 5 and the Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 9, Subtitle 22