Apprentice Limited Hairstylist License Details

Apprentice Limited Hairstylist License

General Info - Statewide License


Two-year Maryland permit that allows candidates to learn hairstyling from a senior cosmetologist or a hairstylist with two years of experience in a licensed barbershop or beauty salon.



  • N/A

    Approval time

  • $10.00

    Application cost

Obtaining the License

Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents

  1. Must be at least 17 years of age and have completed 9th grade or a G.E.D.

  2. Both the sponsor and the apprentice must participate in an orientation class administered by the Board. Once the application is approved, apprentice will be notified of a date to attend the next available orientation session.


Apply for the License

Ready to apply?

Maintaining Your License

Renewal and maintenance -

Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)

  1. Complete renewal application.

  2. Pay renewal fee.

Agency/Contact

License Issuer - Information

Who issues the license?

Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation

Contact Information

Board Administrator

Email: Barbers.cos@maryland.gov

Tel: (410) 230-6190

Work hours:



Purpose

Why the License is required?


The Maryland Board of Cosmetologists qualifies and licenses individuals seeking licensure and issues permits to business entities through which cosmetology is practiced. The Board also establishes health and safety standards for the operation of beauty salons and trade schools. 


Legal Authority

What laws and regulations give Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation the legal authority to issue this approval?

Business Occupations and Professions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, Title 5 and the Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 9, Subtitle 22