Apprentice Limited Esthetician License
General Info - Statewide License
One year Maryland permit that allows candidate to apprentice as an esthetician in a licensed barbershop or beauty salon under the sponsorship of a senior cosmetologist or esthetician with at least two years of experience.
Limited to a one-year original license and one one-year renewal. Must complete an application and sponsorship form that must be signed by a senior cosmetologist or a two-year licensed esthetician. Must complete 12 months of training with at least 30 hours per week.
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Must be at least 17 years of age and have completed 9th grade or a G.E.D.
Both the sponsor and the apprentice must participate in an orientation class administered by the Board. Once your completed application is approved, applicant and sponsor will be notified of a date to attend the next available orientation session.
Apply for the License
Ready to apply?
Online ApplicationApply Now
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance -
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Complete renewal application.
Pay renewal fee.
Why the License is required?
The Maryland Board of Cosmetologists qualifies and licenses individuals seeking licensure and issues permits to business entities through which cosmetology is practiced. The Board also establishes health and safety standards for the operation of beauty salons and trade schools.
What laws and regulations give Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation the legal authority to issue this approval?
Business Occupations and Professions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, Title 5 and the Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 9, Subtitle 22