Air Quality State Permit to Operate Details

Air Quality State Permit to Operate

General Info - Statewide Permit


Sources of air pollution with the potential to significantly affect air quality must obtain a permit to operate in the state of Maryland. Department of Environment may impose reasonable terms and conditions on the permit to ensure compliance and to protect public health.


  • s

    Approval time

  • $200.00

    Application cost

Obtaining the Permit

Ready to get your permit? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents

  1. Fill out the application and provide all required documents.


Apply for the Permit

Ready to apply?

  • Online Application

Maintaining Your Permit

Renewal and maintenance -

Maintaining your Permit (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain Permit/stay in good standing)

  1. Must reapply at least 60 days before the current permit expires.

Agency/Contact

Permit Issuer - Information

Who issues the permit?

Maryland Department of Environment

Contact Information



Legal Authority

What laws and regulations give Maryland Department of Environment the legal authority to issue this approval?

FEDERAL: Clean Air Act, sec. 110; 42 USC sec. 7410.

STATE: Environment Article, Title 2, Subtitle 4; COMAR 26.11.02.