General Info - Statewide Certification
Teachers, specialists, and administrators employed in Maryland public schools, nonpublic schools providing special education services, and state institutions must hold a valid certificate, appropriate to the field of employment, from the state of Maryland.
Valid for 5 years
Obtaining the Certification
Ready to get your certification? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Requirements vary by type of request, certificate type, and area of certification.
Required documentation can be found here.
Maintaining Your Certification
Renewal and maintenance - Valid for 5 years
Maintaining your Certification (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain Certification/stay in good standing)
Certification renewal process
What laws and regulations give Maryland State Department of Education the legal authority to issue this approval?
Legal Authority: Education Article, §2-206, 2-203(g), and 6-701-6-705; Family Law §10-1193