Child Care Licensing and Registration
General Info - Statewide License
A Maryland license or registration is required to provide child care services.
All child care in Maryland is regulated by the Maryland State Department of Education, Office of Child Care’s (OCC), Licensing Branch. The Licensing Branch’s 13 Regional Offices are responsible for all regulatory activities, including the following: Issuing child care licenses and registrations to child care facilities that meet state standards; inspecting child care facilities annually; providing technical assistance to child care providers; investigating complaints against regulated child care facilities; investigating reports of unlicensed (illegal) child care; and taking enforcement action when necessary. COMAR Regulations and other information about the Office of Child Care may be found here.
Valid for 0 years
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Completion of orientation: Family Child Care Home
Completion of orientation: Large Family Child Care Home
Completion of orientation: Child Care Center
Required documentation listed on application forms and website at: http://earlychildhood.marylandpublicschools.org/child-care-providers/licensing/licensing-forms
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance - Valid for 0 years
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Compliance with Regulations.
Yearly inspections, on-going training requirements.
License Issuer - Information
Tel: (410) 767-0100
Why the License is required?
The purpose of child care licensing and registration is to protect the health, safety and welfare of children while in child care arrangements
What laws and regulations give Maryland State Department of Education the legal authority to issue this approval?
Authority: Education Article, §§9.5-301-308, 9.5-311-312, and 9.5-320—9.5-321; Human Services Article, §1-202; General Provisions Article 4-333; Annotated Code of Maryland
Agency Note: Federal Statutory Reference—Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (42 U.S.C. §12101 et seq.); Pro-Children Act of 1994 (20 U.S.C. §6081 et seq.); Child Care Development Block Grant (45 CFR parts 98 and 99); (42 U.S.C. 9858 et seq.) and §418 of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 618).