General Info - Statewide License
The Maryland State Athletic Commission manages, supervises and regulates the sports of professional boxing, amateur and professional kick boxing, amateur and professional mixed martial arts (MMA), and professional wrestling in the State of Maryland. Kickboxers competing in contests must be licensed.
The Commission establishes high health and safety standards for the participants in these sports. Kickboxers must be licensed and regulated in accordance with these standards.The Commission carries out its mission by reflecting, and maintaining, safety and fairness as its guiding principles. The Commission strives to be fully attentive to, and supportive of, the various needs of licensees engaged in their respective fields and professions. The Commission’s strong commitment to regulatory excellence is reflected through the work and integrity of its experienced staff of officials, inspectors and ringside physicians.
Valid for 1 year
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Be at least 18 years old, and not more than 36 years old. The Commission may grant a license to older applicants based upon a review of the individual's physical fitness and experience in the sport in which the applicant seeks to compete.
Submit medical reports which include an ophthalmological exam performed by an ophthalmologist and a neurological examination performed by a neurologist selected by the Commission, as well as negative test results for the HIV virus (antibody), Hepatitis B virus (antigen), and Hepatitis C virus (antibody), within 30 days prior to the date of application for licensure. Submit physical examination performed by a physician within 21 days prior to the date of application for licensure.
Have a manager, trainer, or qualified individual certify to the Commission that the applicant is physically competent as a kickboxer and possesses the skills of a trained kickboxer.
Apply for the License
Ready to apply?
Download the application .PDF file
Maintaining Your License
Renewal and maintenance - Valid for 1 year
Maintaining your License (aka Related forms/requirements to maintain License/stay in good standing)
Submit a renewal application.
Pay renewal fee.
Why the License is required?
The Commission carries out its mission by reflecting, and maintaining, safety and fairness as its guiding principles. Kickboxers must be licensed and regulated in accordance with these principles.
What laws and regulations give Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation the legal authority to issue this approval?