365 Day Recreational Crabbing License
General Info - Statewide License
Recreational crabbing license for the state of Maryland. Required for individuals using certain gear or catching more than a certain amount of crabs in the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal tributaries. No license is required to crab in the Atlantic Ocean, coastal bays, and their tributaries.
Required for anyone who uses the following gear:
2) Collapsible crab traps
3) Net rings
5) Eel pots for own bait.
Additionally, anyone who uses other legal gear to catch more than the following quantities of crabs must obtain a recreational crabbing license:
1) More than 2 dozen male hard crabs (max limit: 1 bushel) OR
2) More than 1 dozen soft crabs or male peeler crabs (max limit: 2 dozen).
$2.00 - $10.00
Obtaining the License
Ready to get your license? - Steps, Requirements, and Documents
Please identify which service center is applicable to mail in your application using DNR's Licensing & Registration Service Centers Link
What laws and regulations give Department of Natural Resources Service Centers the legal authority to issue this approval?
Natural Resources Article, 4-803, Annotated Code of Maryland