365 Day Chesapeake Bay & Coastal Sport Fishing License Details


365 Day Chesapeake Bay & Coastal Sport Fishing License

General Info - Statewide License


Maryland license required for an individual to fish in the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries and the state waters of the Atlantic Ocean and the Atlantic coastal bays and tributaries for one year from the date of purchase

Anglers fishing in the Atlantic Ocean, Coastal Bays, Chesapeake Bay or tidal tributaries must obtain this license or the 7-Day Chesapeake Bay & Coastal Sport Fishing License UNLESS one of the following applies: 

1) You are under 16 years of age

2) You are fishing from a licensed charter boat or from a licensed commercial fishing pier

3) You are fishing on a free fishing day (the first two Saturdays in June and July 4th)

4) You possess a valid commercial tidal fish license

5) You possess a Potomac River Fisheries Commission recreational fishing license (free registration required)

6) You possess a Virginia Saltwater fishing license (free registration required)

7) You are a resident of Maryland, on active duty with the Armed Forces, on leave with your official orders

8) You fish in an area designated by the Department of Natural Resources as a license-free fishing area (free registration required)

9) You are fishing from a boat displaying a Chesapeake Bay & Coastal Sport Fishing Boat License, OR

10) You are an owner or tenant, their spouse, child or the spouse of their child residing on the property and fishing from the property's shoreline.


  • s

    Approval time

  • $15.00 - $23.00

    Application cost


Apply for the License

  • Online Application

    Complete the form

    Apply Now

  • Download form

    Download the application .PDF file

    Download Form

Agency/Contact

License Issuer - Information

Who issues the license?

Department of Natural Resources

Contact Information



Legal Authority

What laws and regulations give Department of Natural Resources the legal authority to issue this approval?

Natural Resources Article, 4-745, Annotated Code of Maryland