Fire Sprinkler Contractor License Application Details

last revised 06/07/22 at 4:46 pm

Fire Sprinkler Contractor License Application


Licensing program for persons who inspect, test, perform maintenance on, install, repair, modify or layout fire sprinkler systems in any residential and/or commercial building in Maryland.

PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS BELOW BEFORE APPLYING. Failure to provide all required documentation may result in a delay and/or rejection of your application.


  • Approval Time

  • -

    Completion Time

  • $300.00

    Application Fee

Apply or Register

Ready to apply?

Instructions

Review the steps - read carefully

  1. Pay the application fee

    You must submit payment for your non-refundable application fee before the Office of the State Fire Marshal will review your submission.

    Please click this link to submit your payment. The initial application fee is $300 and is not refundable. Please enter "INITIAL" in the Invoice/License Number field.

    You will need your transaction number and an electronic copy of your payment receipt to complete this application.

  2. Gather necessary documents

    The following documents will be required for this application:

    • Signed affirmation and notarized page for applicant
    • Signed affirmation and notarized page for each Designated Qualified Individual (DQI)
    • DQI’s NICET certificate or Maryland PE license (for each named DQI)
    • Current Certificate of Insurance naming this office as a certificate holder and containing a 30-day cancellation notification provision
    • Additional documents as required by the State Fire Marshal's office
  3. Complete application

    You will need to create a OneStop account in order to submit this application. Once you are logged into your account, you may click the Apply button above.

What Happens After Submission

Read carefully

  1. Agency Review

    Applications will not be reviewed until fee payment has been received. The State Fire Marshal's Office will review your application for completeness and eligibility. Please note the agency may return your application for revisions if any information is deemed insufficient.

  2. License Approval & Maintenance

    If the Office of the State Fire Marshal approves your application, you will be notified of your license number and given a license record on your OneStop dashboard. From your OneStop record, you may update DQI information, download your certificate, and renew your license.

Agency/Contact

Form Issuer - Information

Who issues the Form?

Office of the State Fire Marshal mdsp.org/firemarshal

Contact Information

Linda P. Bounds

Email: linda.bounds@maryland.gov

Tel: (410) 713-3780 / Fax: (410) 713-3790

Work hours: