Hemp Production Application Details

last revised 01/07/21 at 2:45 pm

Hemp Production Application


Application for a hemp production permit


This application is a two-part process. Part One requires applicants to submit contact information, a background check, and a $50 registration fee. Part Two requires applicants to submit information about the locations where they will grow hemp.

Applicants will receive a Hemp Authorization Number after Part One. Applicants must use this authorization number to register their hemp fields with the FSA. Upon FSA site registration, applicants will fill out Part Two of the application and pay $500 per hemp site.


This program requires you to submit an FBI background check for every key participant involved in the hemp production process.

 - A key participant is defined as "a person or persons who have a direct or indirect financial interest in the entity producing hemp, such as an owner or partner in a partnership. A key participant also includes persons in a corporate entity at executive levels including chief executive officer, chief operating officer and chief financial officer. This does not include such management as farm, field or shift managers.”  

Maryland currently does not limit acres or number of applications for this program.


A PDF version of Part One of the application can be found under "Resources and Links" below. If you would prefer to submit your application via mail, you may download this application and follow the instructions on the PDF. However, online applications are preferred, and your application will be processed quicker if submitted on OneStop.


  • Approval Time

  • -

    Completion Time

  • $550.00

    Application Fee

Apply or Register

Ready to apply?

  • Apply Online

    Complete the form


Instructions

Review the steps - read carefully

  1. Determine type of hemp

    Determine what type of hemp you want to grow and what fits your farm operation: grain, fiber, floral material for CBD extraction.

  2. Select growing location

    Select a location where the hemp will be grown. If the site is not owned by the applicant, you must have the land owner’s permission to grow hemp on their property.

  3. Obtain background check

    Apply for an FBI Criminal Background Check. Each key participant of the hemp production process must submit a background check.

    (You may request a background check here by visiting the following site: https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks)

    • Key participants must not have a felony conviction in the past ten years.

    • Key participants must be at least 18 years old.

  4. Fill out Part One of the online application

    Fill out and submit Part One of the application for a hemp growing permit on OneStop.

    If you do not have a Maryland OneStop account click Register in the upper right hand corner of the screen. Enter your first name, last name, email address, and create a password, then click Register. Once you have submitted your information to create an account you will receive an email from onestop.support@maryland.gov. Click the "Verify Your Email" button in the email.


    A PDF version of Part One of the application can be found under "Resources and Links" below. If you would prefer to submit your application via mail, you may download this application and follow the instructions on the PDF. However, online applications are preferred, and your application will be processed quicker if submitted on OneStop. If you are applying as an individual, choose "PDF of Hemp Production Application (Individuals)." If you are applying on behalf of a business, choose "PDF of Hemp Production Application (Businesses)."

  5. Pay registration fee

    You will be prompted to pay $50 for your application. Once your application has been reviewed and your payment processed, you will receive your hemp authorization number. You will use this authorization number to obtain FSA field identification numbers for your hemp fields.


    Checks can be made out to Maryland Department of Agriculture. Please write "Hemp Grower Application" in the subject line. Checks can be sent by to:


    Maryland Department of Agriculture

    Turf and Seed Division

    50 Harry S Truman Pkwy

    Annapolis, MD 21401

  6. Register your hemp sites with the FSA

    Using the authorization number you received from Part One of your application, register your hemp sites with the FSA. You will be assigned field IDs and GPS coordinators for all of your hemp fields. You must report these field IDs and coordinates in Part Two of your application.

  7. Fill out Part Two of online application

    Once payment of your $50 registration fee has been received and processed by MDA, you will receive an email notification prompting you to fill out Part Two of your application. You must submit information about the sites where you will be growing hemp, including the FSA field IDs and coordinates. You will be required to submit maps of the property used for growing as well. If the hemp will be grown on rented property, you must also upload a signed landowner agreement document, which can be found under "Resources" below.

  8. Pay hemp sites registration fee

    Once Part Two of your application has been approved, you will be prompted to pay $500 for each site address you register. Payment can be made out to Maryland Department of Agriculture. Please write your authorization number (which will be assigned to you after Part One) in the subject line.


    Checks can be sent to:

    Maryland Department of Agriculture

    Turf and Seed Division

    50 Harry S Truman Pkwy

    Annapolis, MD 21401

  9. Receive certificate

    Once payment has been received and processed by MDA, you will receive an email notifying you that your certificate is available. Click on "View Submission" at the bottom of the email and scroll to the bottom of the page to access, download, and print your certificate. This certificate serves as proof of permit.

What Happens After Submission

Read carefully

  1. MDA Staff Reviews Part One of your Application

    Once you submit Part One of your application with all supporting documents, a member of the MDA Turf & Seed Division will review your materials. If no actions are needed and your materials are satisfactory, your application for a hemp authorization will be approved and you will be prompted to pay the registration fee via mail-in check. Once payment is received and processed by MDA, you will receive an email notification with your authorization number, which you will use to register your hemp sites with the FSA.

  2. MDA Staff Reviews Part Two of your Application

    Once you submit, Part Two of your application with all supporting documents, a member of the MDA Turf & Seed Division will review your materials. If no actions are needed and your materials are satisfactory, you will receive a notification prompting you to pay the hemp sites registration fee via mail-in check. Once payment is received and processed, you will be notified that a hemp growing certificate is available on OneStop.

  3. Certificate Generated

    You will be notified via email when your certificate is available. Your certificate serves as proof of permit to grow hemp. All certificates expire on December 31 of the calendar year the permit was issued.


    Please download and print your certificate and keep a copy for future reporting purposes.

  4. Renew Permit

    You will be notified by email on December 1st that your permit will expire in 30 days. You may submit a renewal application via OneStop.


Agency/Contact

Form Issuer - Information

Who issues the Form?

Maryland Department of Agriculture, Turf and Seed Division mda.maryland.gov/plants-pests/Pages/turf_seed.aspx

Contact Information

Jim Drews

Email: jim.drews@maryland.gov

Tel: (410) 841-5960