General Info

Nonpublic School Certificate of Approval

Statewide Certification

Nonpublic schools approved under COMAR 13A.09.09 (private pay) and COMAR 13A.09.10 (special education) receive a Certificate of Approval from the state of Maryland. 

Ongoing compliance with applicable regulations and laws are the bases for maintaining the certificate of approval.

show more
Valid for While in compliance Revised : No Date
1-6 months Approval time
$0 Application cost
10-20 mins Average completion time

How to get your license?

Obtaining the License

Steps, requirements and documents

A written description of the proposed education program.

The summary of discussions with the local school system (LSS) regarding the need for the program.

Zoning approval.

The name and certification of the education director of the educational program.


How do I apply?

Apply or register

Online Application Open up new website
Visit site

How do I maintain or renew my certification?

Maintaining Your Certification

Renewal after While in compliance

You may need to meet or abide by all of the following requirements
in order to maintain or renew your certification

When the Nonpublic School Approval Specialist and the Chief, Nonpublic School Approval Branch, determine that all items required in the application are in compliance with the regulations, an initial onsite monitoring visit is conducted to determine onsite compliance with the regulations.

When the application and initial onsite monitoring visit result in findings of compliance, a recommendation is made to the Assistant State Superintendent of the Division of Educator Effectiveness that Tentative Approval be issued. A Letter of Tentative Approval must be obtained prior to implementation of the educational program.

The Nonpublic School Approval Specialist conducts an onsite monitoring visit within six (6) months after the school is in operation to determine ongoing compliance with the regulations.

The Nonpublic School Approval Specialist monitors the school within one (1) year of issuance of Tentative Approval to determine if a recommendation can be made to the State Board of Education that a Certificate of Approval be issued or that Tentative Approval should be extended for another year.

Certification issuer

Agency/Contact

Information

Who issues the certification?

Maryland State Department of Education
marylandpublicschools.org

Contact information

Alexandra Cambra
Tel: (410) 767-0407 / Fax: (410) 333-8963
Work hours: 8:00-5:00 M-F

Address: 200 West Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201

Where can I find more information?

Resources and Links

Visit the following websites for additional information


How do I apply?

Apply or register

Online Application Open up new website
Visit site

Feedback

Tell us what you think

(optional)

    Success

    Ok