General Info

Junkyard and Scrap Metal Processing Facility License

Statewide License

Junkyards established or expanded before January 1, 1968, must have an MDOT SHA junkyard license and conform to all federal and state regulations. Locations or properties include automobile graveyards, landfills, and recycling operations. To obtain a license or seek information about this program, please contact the MDOT SHA Office of Real Estate at 410-545-2819 or 1-888-204-4245 (toll-free).

The Federal Highway Beautification Act of 1965 requires states to provide effective control of junkyards along federally funded highways.  In addition, state laws regulate junkyards along state-maintained highways (Sections 8-801 thru 8-812, Annotated Code of Maryland). These laws allow MDOT SHA, as the regulatory agency, to monitor junkyards and keep Maryland highways and roadsides beautiful and safe.

show more
Valid for 1 year Revised : No Date
2 weeks Approval time
$100 Application cost
60 mins Average completion time

How to get your license?

Obtaining the License

Steps, requirements and documents

Any new junkyard, landfill, or recycling operation established after January 1, 1968, must be screened according to Federal and State regulations. Businesses established prior to 1968 must also maintain their existing screening along the highway.

How do I apply?

Apply or register

Online Application Open up new website
Visit site

How do I maintain or renew my license?

Maintaining Your License

Renewal after 1 year

You may need to meet or abide by all of the following requirements
in order to maintain or renew your license

The license expires on December 31st each year and must be renewed annually.

License issuer



Who issues the license?

Maryland Department of Transportation

Contact information

Work hours: 7:30 am - 4:00 pm

Address: 707 North Calvert Street, Mail Stop - M201, Baltimore, MD 21202

How do I apply?

Apply or register

Online Application Open up new website
Visit site


Tell us what you think