General Info

New Resident Regulated Firearms Registration

Statewide Registration

Registration of regulated firearms for new residents of Maryland.

As part of the Firearms Safety Act of 2013 effective October 1, 2013, a person who moves into Maryland with the intent of becoming a resident shall register all regulated firearms with the Secretary of the Maryland Department of State Police within 90 days after establishing residency.

show more
Valid for State Residence Duration Revised : No Date
Within 90 Days Approval time
$15 Application cost
10-15 mins Average completion time

How to get your license?

Obtaining the License

Steps, requirements and documents

The new resident registration shall include the make, model, manufacturer’s serial number, caliber, type, barrel length, finish, and country of origin for each regulated firearms.


How do I apply?

Apply or register

Online Application Open up new website
Visit site

Registration issuer

Agency/Contact

Information

Who issues the registration?

Maryland Department of State Police
mdsp.maryland.gov

Contact information

Licensing Division HQL Unit
Tel: (410) 653-4577 / Fax: (410) 653-4036
Work hours: 8:00am-4:30pm

Address: 1111 Reisterstown Rd, Pikesville, MD 21208

Where can I find more information?

Resources and Links

Visit the following websites for additional information


How do I apply?

Apply or register

Online Application Open up new website
Visit site

Feedback

Tell us what you think

(optional)

    Success

    Ok